Nasher Prize

In April 2015, the Nasher Sculpture Center announced the creation of the Nasher Prize, the most significant award in the world dedicated exclusively to contemporary sculpture. It is presented annually to a living artist that has had an extraordinary impact on the understanding of the art form. Each winner is chosen by a jury of renowned museum directors, curators, artists, and art historians who have an expertise in the field, and varying perspectives on the subject, and receives a $100,000 prize, conferred in April of each year. In addition, each winner receives an award object designed by the architect of the Nasher Sculpture Center, Renzo Piano.

The Nasher Sculpture Center is one of a few institutions worldwide dedicated exclusively to the exhibition and study of modern and contemporary sculpture. As such, the prize is an apt extension of the museum’s mission and its commitment to advancing developments in the field. By recognizing those artists who have had a significant impact on the understanding and development of sculpture, the Nasher Sculpture Center will further its role as a leading institution in enhancing and promoting this vital art form.

Attendant with the award aspect of the Nasher Prize is a series of public programs called Nasher Prize Dialogues. These panel discussions, lectures, and symposia are intended to foster international awareness of sculpture and of the Nasher Prize, and to stimulate discussion and debate. Nasher Prize Dialogues are held in cities around the world on a yearly basis, offering engagement with various audiences, and providing myriad perspectives and insight into the ever-expanding field of sculpture.

The 2018 Nasher Prize Laureate is Theaster Gates

The inaugural winner of the Nasher Prize was Colombian artist, Doris Salcedo. The 2017 Nasher Prize Laureate was Pierre Huyghe. 

The 2018 Nasher Prize Gala will take place on April 7, 2018 at the Nasher Sculpture Center. 



Presenting Sponsor: JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Founding Partners: The Eugene McDermott Foundation and Nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger

Community Month Sponsor: The Donna Wilhelm Family Fund

Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) is the public transportation partner for Nasher Prize Month

DART to Nasher Prize Month - Take DART Rail (any line) to Pearl / Arts District Station or St. Paul Station and walk 3 blocks North to Flora Street. Or, take the D-Link bus, a free and convenient way to explore Downtown Dallas, to the Dallas Arts District (stop 19). For more information or schedules, please visit

Frequently Asked Questions