Soundings: New Music at the Nasher

Bach's Music for Solo Violin and Its Legacy

May 3, 2018
7:30 p.m.

Experience Bach's music for solo violin performed by violinist Alexi Kenney.

Completed in 1720, Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas remained unpublished until 1802, an noteworthy gap given the central place these works now hold in the violin repertoire. Violinist Alexi Kenney has created a program for Soundings that illuminates Bach’s deep influence on composers of today. Each of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas are represented, interspersed with works for solo violin by many important compositional voices of our time: American composer Steve Reich, Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff, Finnish composers Kaija Saariaho and Esa-Pekka Salonen, French-Greek composer Iannis Xenakis, Hungarian composer György Kurtág, and Icelandic composer Thuridur Jónsdóttir in performances by violinist, Alexi Kenney, recipient of the 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant.

Purchase Tickets