Soundings: New Music at the Nasher

Alisa Weilerstein in Recital

November 12, 2014
7:30 pm

The Nasher Sculpture Center is proud to present the fifth anniversary season of the critically acclaimed Soundings music series under the artistic direction of Seth Knopp.

The series will present four concerts on November 12, 2014, February 28, 2015, April 24, 2015, and May 20, 2015.

Individual tickets for Alisa Weilerstein In Recital are SOLD OUT. To be placed on a wait list, please call 214.242.5148.

Alisa Weilerstein in Recital

Johann Sebastian Bach wrote his six suites for unaccompanied cello in a single year, the same year he wrote his sonatas and partitas for unaccompanied violin. The enormity of this goes beyond Bach’s ability to compose so prolifically with such sheer beauty and invention. Each of these works seems a miracle of medium, able to realize an unimaginable potential living in a single instrument. Beethoven spoke for all of us when he said, “Das ist nicht ein Bach, das ist ein Meer” (… This is not a brook, this is an ocean.)

Alisa Weilerstein opens the Nasher’s 2014-15 Soundings season with a program framed by Bach’s cello suites and exploring the works for solo cello of Zoltán Kodály, Benjamin Britten and Osvaldo Golijov.


Soundings: New Music at the Nasher is supported by Charles and Jessie Price and Kay and Elliot Cattarulla.
Additional support is provided by Nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger.