Soundings: New Music at the Nasher

A Thousand Cranes: Christopher Theofanidis’ Second Symphony for Strings and Harp

December 12, 2015
7:30 pm

World Premiere presented at the Montgomery Arts Theater in collaboration with Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts.

Christopher Theofanidis Gently Flow My Tears
Jörg Widmann Ikarische Klage
J.S. Bach Chaconne from Partita in D Minor for solo violin
Philippe Hersant Choral
Christopher Theofanidis A Thousand Cranes (Symphony No. 2) for strings and harp

East Coast Chamber Orchestra (ECCO) and harpist Sivan Magen bring this world premiere to the Soundings series

Inspired by the power of a child’s innocence to transcend human tragedy, Theofanidis’ work forms the cornerstone of a program that includes works by Jörg Widmann, Philippe Hersant and Johann Sebastian Bach, reflecting both the human desire to harness unattainable power and the limitless power of human expression.

Soundings is supported by Charles and Jessie Price and Kay and Elliot Cattarulla, Aston Martin of Dallas, the Friends of Soundings, City of Dallas Office of Cultural Affairs, and TACA. Additional support provided by Nancy A. Nasher and David J. Haemisegger. Media Partner WRR 101.1 FM.