Soundings: New Music at the Nasher

In-Person Event | The String Quartets of Robert Schumann
October 5, 2022 - October 6, 2022 7 – 9 p.m. 10/5/2022 7:00 PM 10/6/2022 7:00 PM
Buy Tickets

Soundings: New Music at the Nasher is a series of groundbreaking performances created under the artistic direction of Seth Knopp, a founding member of the Peabody Trio and Artistic Director of Yellow Barn.

2-Night Event : Your ticket includes admission to both the October 5 & October 6 concerts.


Over the course of two evenings, in two distinct concerts, the performance of Schumann's quartets, intertwined with wisps of Schumann's own sketches for these works and the music of Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven from which he took inspiration, sheds light on how we define what is "new" in art, and why that is important.

The World of the Spirit and the Consciousness of the Poetic Mind: The String Quartets of Robert Schumann

Music From Yellow Barn

Wednesday, October 5
Schumann's sketches for Op. 41 No. 1 and No. 3
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): String Quartet in C Major, Op.20 "Sun" No.2 (1772)
Capriccio. Adagio – Cantabile
Menuetto. Allegretto
Fuga a 4 soggetti. Allegro
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) String Quartet in B-flat Major "Prussian", K.589 (1790)
Menuetto. Moderato – Trio
Allegro assai
Schumann's sketches for Op.41 No.1
Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) Adagio from String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 80 (1847)
Robert Schumann (1810-1856) String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 41 No. 1 (1842)
Introduzcione. Andante espressivo – Allegro
Scherzo. Presto – Intermezzo
Thursday, October 6
Schumann's sketches for Op. 41 No. 2
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Adagio, ma non troppo e molto cantabile
from String Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 127
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) Andante più tosto allegretto from String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 55 No. 2 (1788)
Schumann String Quartet in F Major, Op. 41, No. 2 (1842)
Allegro vivace
Andante quasi variazioni
Scherzo. Presto – Trio. L'istesso tempo
Allegro molto vivace
Haydn Finale. Presto from String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 55 No. 2

Of Schumann's symphonic works and string quartets it was written, "…Schumann solved the problem, in which for a long time he himself did not believe, that of creating significant individual work in an artistic genre that has already been developed to the full and has reached its peak."

Schumann had indeed pored over these "peaks" of string quartet writing, those of Beethoven, Mozart, and Haydn, and written of them and of the succession of artistic generations, "…we love the struggle of youth for what is new, and Beethoven, who struggled till his last breath, is for us a lofty model of human greatness. But in the orchards of Mozart and Haydn there are also trees heavy with fruit which cannot easily be ignored…"

On September 13th, 1842, Clara Schuman's birthday, her husband surprised her with the gift of his three string quartets. Of these (and her husband) she wrote, "My veneration for his genius, for his mind, for everything about him as a composer, grows with every new work! As for the quartets, I can only say that they delight me down to the smallest detail. Everything is new…"

Led by violinist Anthony Marwood, Yellow Barn musicians include So-Young Choi, Grace Park and Julia Mirzoev, violins; Natalie Loughran and Rose Nelis, violas; and Natasha Brofsky, Edvard Pogossian, and Aaron Wolff, cellos.

Nasher Sculpture Center
2001 Flora Street
Dallas, Texas 75201
Join Our Newsletter

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.